The Old Covenants and their fulfillment in Christ

In His death and resurrection, Jesus has ushered in a new and everlasting covenant that fulfills and surpasses all previous covenants.
(see the chart "Yahweh's Eight Covenants")

Old Covenants Fulfilled in Christ
1. The covenant with Adam Jesus is the "new Adam" who has atoned for the sin of the first Adam, conquering sin and death and bringing forth His Bride, the Church, from His pierced side as Eve was born from the side of Adam (Rom 5:14-21; 1 Cor 15:20-45; CCC 359, 411, 504, 766).
2. The covenant with Noah Jesus' gift of the Sacrament of baptism has restored man, through water and the Spirit to renewed life (Jn 3:3, 5; 1 Pt 3:21, CCC 628, 1094).
3. The three-fold Abrahamic covenant:
  1. a kingdom
  2. numerous descendants
  3. a world-wide blessing.
Jesus has fulfilled the three promises made to Abraham (CCC 59, 706, 762-66):
  1. He has established a great kingdom in the Church-the Kingdom of Heaven on earth (Acts 1:3).
  2. He has filled His kingdom with men and woman of every age who have accepted His gift of eternal salvation and who are the spiritual children of Abraham (Rom 9:6-8; Gal 3:29).
  3. As Abraham's descendant, Jesus has brought a world-wide blessing through His universal covenant that is open to men and women of all nations (Gal 3:8).
4. The Covenant at Sinai Jesus has fulfilled all the blood rituals and purification rituals of the old Law in His one perfect sacrifice on the altar of the Cross, having made atonement for the sins of man and offering continual purification through the Eucharist and the other Sacraments of His Church (Heb 9:15-28; CCC 577-582). In His self-sacrifice and fulfillment of the Sinai Covenant, Jesus has freed God's people from the curse of failing to keep the old Law (Dt 28:15; Rom 3:21-26; Gal 3:13-14).
5. The Aaronic Covenant of a ministerial priesthood Jesus has established the New Covenant priesthood: A universal priesthood of all believers and a ministerial priesthood that is no longer based on heredity but on the call of the Holy Spirit (Mt 28:19-20; CCC 1141-43).
6. The Perpetual Priesthood of Phinehas Jesus Christ is the eternal High Priest of the New and Everlasting Covenant (Heb 4:14-15; 8:1-3; CCC 1137).
7. The Davidic Covenant God's promise to David that his throne would endure forever is fulfilled in Christ who is the heir of David and the King of the Universal Church (Lk 1:32-33; Heb 1:1-4; CCC 786, 2105).
Michal Hunt, Copyright © 2012 Agape Bible Study. Permissions All Rights Reserved.